Skip to content

Product Review ยท Carry-On Bags

LEVEL8 3-Piece Hardside Luggage Set Review (20, 24, 28 Inch): Worth It?

10 min readBy Carry-On Sized Editorial
Last updated:Published:
Editor's Pick

LEVEL8 Luggage Sets 3 Piece

$386.99

The LEVEL8 3-piece hardside set pairs an expandable 20-inch carry-on with 24- and 28-inch checked cases in PC+ABS shells, per its Amazon listing. Here is what the listing states, what LEVEL8's Grace pages add if they describe the same set, and the weight the listing's bullets leave out.

Check Price

We may earn a commission if you make a purchase through our links.

Is the LEVEL8 3-Piece Hardside Luggage Set (20, 24, 28 Inch) Worth It?

For a household that wants one matched set covering a carry-on and two checked bags, the LEVEL8 3-piece hardside set is worth serious consideration: per the Amazon listing it pairs a 20-inch expandable carry-on with 24-inch and 28-inch checked cases, all in PC+ABS shells with a 3-layer micro-diamond textured surface, rolling on eight rubber-covered 360-degree spinner wheels, with an aluminum telescoping handle and a TSA combination lock. LEVEL8's Grace pages, which share phrasing with the listing but are not named by it, add a recessed lock, cross straps and dividers inside, three colors and a lifetime warranty covering the shell, wheels, handles and zippers. The reasons to pause are that the listing's bullets state no weight for any piece and the text of LEVEL8's set page gives none, that the overall dimensions come from LEVEL8's two-piece page rather than the listing, and that those figures give the carry-on three sides to check against your airline's box and add up to 63 linear inches on the 28-inch.

Updated October 2026.

We did not test this product ourselves; this review is built from the manufacturer's published specifications and Amazon's product listing.

Which LEVEL8 set this is

The Amazon listing's title reads "LEVEL8 Luggage Sets 3 Piece, Hardshell Suitcase with Wheels, 20/24/28 Inch", and it never names a collection. Its wording points to one collection: PC+ABS shells, a "3-layer micro-diamond textured surface" and an expandable 20-inch carry-on are phrases LEVEL8 also uses on its Grace Luggage 3 Piece Set page. That match is an inference, not something the listing states, so the Grace figures below apply only if the listing is that set. LEVEL8 also sells a Luminous Textured 3 Piece Set in the same three sizes, which its page describes as Makrolon polycarbonate with a diamond texture; that is a different shell, and none of its figures are used here.

Per the listing, the set includes a 20-inch expandable carry-on, a 24-inch checked case and a 28-inch checked case. LEVEL8's Grace page describes a three-piece set with one expandable 20-inch carry-on and says the checked pieces are not expandable. Before weighing the set itself, our guide to a luggage set versus buying checked bags separately covers the first question: whether a set's three pieces are the ones you would buy one at a time.

Shells, texture and the expandable carry-on

Both sources describe the shells the same way. Per the listing, the cases are "Made of quality PC+ABS materials, designed with a 3-layer micro-diamond textured surface which provides outstanding durability". LEVEL8's page says "LIGHTWEIGHT YET DURABLE shells made of PC+ABS materials" and calls the micro-diamond surface anti-scratch. Neither source gives the blend ratio, and no weight appears in the listing's bullets or the set page's text, so "lightweight" is a description rather than a number on both pages.

Expansion is where the sources differ in detail. Per the listing, the 20-inch's expansion provides "an additional 16% capacity". LEVEL8's set page says the carry-on is expandable but gives no percentage, and neither the listing's bullets nor the set page's text states the expanded dimensions. Expanding a carry-on adds to its depth, so a bag that fits an airline sizer closed is not guaranteed to fit expanded; the dimensions below are presumably the closed figures.

Wheels, handle and lock

Per the listing, the set rolls on "8 Rubber-Covered 360-Degree Spinner Wheels", paired with "a smooth and ergonomic aluminum telescoping handle", and the title adds "4 Levels Telescoping Handle". LEVEL8's page lists "FOUR DOUBLE 360-DEGREE SPINNER WHEELS" and a "sturdy ergonomic aluminum telescoping handle". Four double wheels would be eight wheels, so the two lines may describe the same configuration; the rubber covering and the four handle stops appear only in the listing.

On the lock, the listing says "TSA Combination Lock" and LEVEL8's page says "RECESSED TSA COMBINATION LOCK provides security during international travel". Recessed means the lock is set into the shell rather than sitting on its surface.

Inside the cases

The listing says nothing about the interior. LEVEL8's set page says the "SPACIOUS INTERIOR features cross straps and dividers for ease-packing" and mentions multiple pockets, without pocket counts or a lining description. Colors, per LEVEL8, are Navy, Black and Champagne; the listing's title does not name a color, so confirm which one the listing you open is selling.

The numbers the listing leaves out

The listing's bullets state no exterior dimensions, weights or capacities, and its title gives only the nominal sizes. The text of LEVEL8's three-piece set page gives none either, and that page puts its size guide in a separate tab, so check the tab for the figures. LEVEL8's page for its Grace two-piece sets, which pair a 20-inch carry-on, apparently the same one, with either the 24-inch or the 28-inch checked case, does list overall dimensions and capacities. In the order that page gives them, carry-on first and checked piece second, they are:

  • 20-inch carry-on: 21.8 by 9.4 by 14.5 inches overall (LEVEL8's L x W x H), 36 L.
  • 24-inch checked: 26.8 by 10.6 by 18.5 inches overall, 42 L.
  • 28-inch checked: 30.7 by 11.8 by 20.5 inches overall, 104 L.

Those are LEVEL8's figures for the two-piece sets, and they describe the listing's pieces only if the Grace match holds, so confirm them in LEVEL8's size guide and on the listing you buy from. Three things in them deserve attention.

First, the carry-on. The 21.8-inch figure is the long side, and all three figures need checking, not only the 14.5-inch and 9.4-inch sides. Put them against your airline's published box in our verified carry-on size table before you count on this piece flying in the cabin.

Second, the 28-inch. Its three figures add to 63 linear inches. Our 62-linear-inch explainer covers how airlines apply that limit and how they measure, so read it before choosing the 28-inch as your main checked bag. The 24-inch adds to 55.9 linear inches.

Third, the capacities. LEVEL8 lists 42 L for the 24-inch and 104 L for the 28-inch, which puts the middle case far closer to the 36 L carry-on than to the large case. Those are the page's numbers as published, and nothing on either source explains the gap; treat the 24-inch's figure as one to confirm rather than one to plan around.

No weight appears in the listing's bullets or the text of LEVEL8's set page. The listing calls the set lightweight and LEVEL8 calls the shells lightweight, but neither text gives pounds for any piece, which matters because an empty case's weight comes out of the checked-bag allowance.

Warranty

LEVEL8's page says the set "comes with a lifetime warranty that covers functional aspects including shell, wheels, handles, and zippers". The Amazon listing does not mention a warranty. Whether a purchase through the listing is registered the same way as a purchase from LEVEL8's store is not stated on either page, so confirm it before you buy if the warranty is part of your decision.

Key specs

SpecAmazon listingLEVEL8's Grace pages, if the same set
Pieces20-inch expandable carry-on, 24-inch checked, 28-inch checkedThree pieces; one expandable 20-inch carry-on, checked pieces not expandable
ShellPC+ABS; 3-layer micro-diamond textured surfacePC+ABS; 3-layer micro-diamond textured, anti-scratch
Expansion20-inch: an additional 16% capacity20-inch: expandable, no percentage stated
Wheels8 rubber-covered 360-degree spinner wheels4 double 360-degree spinner wheels
HandleAluminum telescoping, 4 levelsAluminum telescoping; levels not stated
LockTSA combination lockRecessed TSA combination lock
InteriorNot statedCross straps, dividers, multiple pockets
Overall dimensionsNot stated20-inch 21.8 x 9.4 x 14.5 in; 24-inch 26.8 x 10.6 x 18.5 in; 28-inch 30.7 x 11.8 x 20.5 in (two-piece set page)
CapacityNot stated36 L, 42 L, 104 L (two-piece set page)
WeightNot in the bullets, which say lightweightNot in the page text
ColorsNot statedNavy, Black, Champagne
WarrantyNot statedLifetime, covering shell, wheels, handles and zippers

What stands out

  • PC+ABS shells with a 3-layer micro-diamond textured surface, described identically by both sources.
  • Eight spinner wheels, counted two ways: "8 Rubber-Covered 360-Degree" per the listing, "FOUR DOUBLE 360-DEGREE" per LEVEL8.
  • An expandable 20-inch carry-on, with the listing putting the gain at 16% capacity.
  • A recessed TSA combination lock, per LEVEL8, and a TSA lock per the listing.
  • A lifetime warranty on shell, wheels, handles and zippers, per LEVEL8's page.

Where it might not fit

  • No weight for any piece in the listing's bullets or the set page's text.
  • No dimensions or capacities in the listing's bullets or the three-piece page's text; the figures above come from LEVEL8's two-piece page.
  • The 28-inch adds to 63 linear inches on LEVEL8's figures.
  • All three of the carry-on's overall dimensions need checking against your airline's box.
  • The 24-inch's 42 L figure is published without explanation and sits close to the carry-on's.

Verdict

Worth it for a buyer who wants three matched hardside cases from one order and who checks two things first: the carry-on's three overall dimensions against the airline box they fly most, and the 28-inch's 63-linear-inch sum against the checked limit. The listing and LEVEL8's Grace pages describe the construction in matching terms, PC+ABS with the micro-diamond texture, an aluminum handle and a TSA combination lock, and LEVEL8's pages add a lifetime warranty on the shell, wheels, handles and zippers, though neither source says it covers a purchase through the listing. Neither the listing's bullets nor the set page's text gives you a weight, so keep a luggage scale in the plan. Check the current price of the LEVEL8 3-piece luggage set on Amazon and check which color and dimensions the listing you open ships.

Where to buy: Check the current price on Amazon.

FAQ

Is the LEVEL8 3-piece hardside luggage set (20, 24, 28 inch) worth it?

Yes, for a traveler who wants a matched carry-on and two checked cases in PC+ABS with eight spinner wheels, a TSA combination lock and, per LEVEL8, a lifetime warranty on the shell, wheels, handles and zippers. Check the carry-on's 21.8-by-14.5-by-9.4-inch overall dimensions against your airline's box and the 28-inch's 63-linear-inch sum against the checked limit before ordering, and note that neither the listing's bullets nor the set page's text states a weight.

What is the LEVEL8 3-piece luggage set made of?

Both the Amazon listing and LEVEL8's page describe PC+ABS shells with a 3-layer micro-diamond textured surface, which LEVEL8 calls anti-scratch. Neither gives the blend ratio.

Does the 20-inch carry-on in the set expand?

Yes. Per the listing, the 20-inch is expandable and the expansion adds 16% capacity. LEVEL8's page says the carry-on expands and the 24-inch and 28-inch do not, but gives no percentage.

How big are the pieces in the LEVEL8 3-piece set?

Neither the listing's bullets nor the three-piece page's text states dimensions. If the listing is LEVEL8's Grace set, as its wording suggests, LEVEL8's page for its Grace two-piece sets lists the 20-inch at 21.8 by 9.4 by 14.5 inches overall and 36 L, the 24-inch at 26.8 by 10.6 by 18.5 inches and 42 L, and the 28-inch at 30.7 by 11.8 by 20.5 inches and 104 L.

Does the LEVEL8 set come with a warranty?

LEVEL8's page lists a lifetime warranty covering functional aspects including the shell, wheels, handles and zippers. The Amazon listing does not state a warranty, so confirm coverage for a purchase through the listing.

Sources

  • LEVEL8 โ€” product page "Grace Luggage 3 Piece Set", accessed October 2026.
  • LEVEL8 โ€” page "Grace luggage 2 pieces" (overall dimensions and capacities), accessed October 2026.
  • Amazon product listing for LEVEL8 Luggage Sets 3 Piece, Hardshell Suitcase with Wheels, 20/24/28 Inch (title, brand and feature bullets).
Free Carry-On Luggage newsletter

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

Affiliate Disclosure

This article may contain affiliate links. If you make a purchase through these links, we may earn a commission at no additional cost to you.
#LEVEL8
#luggage sets
#hardside luggage
#checked luggage
#carry-on

Stay Updated

Get the latest Carry-On Luggage reviews and deals delivered to your inbox.

Browse All Reviews

More Reviews

Featured Products

LEVEL8 Luggage Sets 3 Piece

LEVEL8 Luggage Sets 3 Piece

LEVEL8's Luggage Sets are a 3-piece collection of suitcases for travel.

View Deal

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.