Skip to content

Product Review · Carry-On Bags

Travelpro Maxlite 5 21-Inch Carry-On Review: Worth It for Frequent Flyers?

10 min readBy Carry-On Sized Editorial
Last updated:Published:
Editor's Pick

Travelpro Maxlite 5 Softside Carry-On Luggage Spinner

$160

The Travelpro Maxlite 5 21-inch softside spinner lists 5.4 pounds, 46 liters, a 21 x 14 x 9 case and a 23 x 14.5 x 9 overall size, with a limited lifetime warranty, per its Amazon listing; Travelpro's own pages add the warranty detail. Here is what both sources state for a frequent flyer.

Check Price

We may earn a commission if you make a purchase through our links.

Is the Travelpro Maxlite 5 21-Inch Softside Carry-On Worth It for Frequent Flyers?

For a frequent flyer who wants a light softside spinner with a long warranty behind it, the Travelpro Maxlite 5 21-inch is worth it on the numbers its Amazon listing states: 5.4 pounds, 46 liters, a case of 21" x 14" x 9", 360° spinner wheels, a PowerScope Lite handle with stops at 38" and 42.5", up to 2" of expansion, and Limited Lifetime Coverage plus one year of airline-damage repair under the Trusted Companion Promise once registered. The first thing to check is size, because the same listing gives an overall measurement of 23" x 14.5" x 9" including wheels and handles, and Travelpro's own product page calls that 23-inch height "marginally above the commonly published 22 x 14 x 9 in. standard." Hold the overall figure, not the case figure, against your airline's published box before you buy.

Updated October 2026.

We did not test this product ourselves; this review is built from the manufacturer's published specifications and Amazon's product listing.

Size and weight: the case number and the overall number

The listing gives two sets of dimensions, and the difference between them is the most useful thing on the page. Per the listing, the case measures 21" x 14" x 9", and the overall dimensions, which include the wheels and handles, are 23" x 14.5" x 9". The 21 in the product name matches the case height. The number a sizer bin sees is the overall one.

Travelpro's product page says the same thing in its own words. It lists overall H 23 in., W 14.5 in., D 9 in. and case H 21 in., W 14 in., D 9 in., and its FAQ states that the 23-inch overall height is "marginally above the commonly published 22 x 14 x 9 in. standard." That is the manufacturer saying, on its own page, that the bag stands an inch above the 22-inch figure it calls the commonly published standard. Whether an inch matters depends on the airline and on the agent, and this review does not make that call for you. Listed versus overall carry-on dimensions explains why the two numbers differ, and the carry-on size limits by airline table is where to hold 23 x 14.5 x 9 against the carrier you fly most.

The listing also says the spinner meets most international carry-on size limits. That is the listing's claim, stated without naming an airline, and the overall dimensions above are what to check it against.

Weight is the Maxlite's headline. Per the listing it weighs 5.4 pounds and is a half pound lighter than the Maxlite 4, with a volume of 46 liters. Travelpro's page lists the same 5.4 lbs and 46 L, frames the bag as suited to trips of 2 to 7 days, and describes the capacity as up to 7 outfits; take the outfit count as the manufacturer's rule of thumb rather than a spec. For a frequent flyer the weight matters twice: once lifting the bag into a bin, and again on any carrier that publishes a cabin-bag weight limit.

Fabric, wheels and handle

Per the listing, the fabric is stain-resistant polyester with a water-resistant DuraGuard coating and ergonomic, high-strength zippers, and the interior lining uses recycled plastics and is protected from moisture with H2O Guard. Travelpro's page describes the same fabric as polyester with a DuraGuard coating that "resists water and stains", and it does not call the bag waterproof, so neither should you. Its lining is named on the page as ECOFAB, "made from 100% post-consumer recycled plastic bottles". Neither source names the zipper maker.

Per the listing, the bag rolls on 360° spinner wheels, and the PowerScope Lite handle has stops at 38" and 42.5" with a contour grip; a bottom tray design is credited with durability and stability. Travelpro's page adds that the grip is a "Patented Contour Grip designed with rubberized touch points" and describes the wheels as 360° 4-wheel spinners. Two handle stops rather than one gives a shorter and a taller traveler each a setting. Neither source states the wheel material or whether the wheels are replaceable.

Packing space and pockets

Per the listing, the case expands up to 2" for added space, and it has top, side and bottom handles, two exterior pockets, a full-length lid pocket, a side accessory pocket and adjustable hold-down straps. Travelpro's page lists the same lid pocket, side accessory pocket and hold-down straps, calls the expansion "2" additional tapered expansion", and says the taper is meant to keep the center of gravity low to help reduce tipping. It also carries a warning the listing does not: "Fully expanded Carry-On may not meet airline restrictions." Expand it on the way home rather than on the way to the gate, and check the airline's box before you fly with it expanded.

What neither source states: a lock or a TSA-accepted lock, a laptop sleeve, interior dimensions, the number of interior compartments beyond the lid pocket, or what the two exterior pockets are sized for. If any of those decide a bag for you, the listing as it stands will not answer, so look at the current photos or ask before you order.

Warranty and the airline-damage promise

This is the section that separates a frequent flyer's bag from an occasional traveler's. Per the listing, the Maxlite 5 carries Limited Lifetime Coverage, and the Trusted Companion Promise covers repair of damage caused by airlines or other common carriers for one year when the bag is registered after purchase.

Travelpro's own warranty page files the Maxlite 5 Softside under what it calls the Built For A Lifetime Limited Warranty, which covers "defects in materials and workmanship for: Wheels, Zippers, Extension and Carrying Handles", with repair or replacement at Travelpro's discretion. The same page uses the name "Limited Lifetime Warranty" for older lines, Maxlite 4 and prior among them, with the same coverage wording. Neither the listing nor the warranty page defines "lifetime" as a number of years, and the warranty page lists no exclusions, so read the Maxlite 5 warranty page itself before you count on it.

On the Trusted Companion Promise, the two sources each state a part the other leaves out. The listing gives the duration: one year. Travelpro's warranty page gives the deadline: the promise applies "if registered within 120 days of purchase or gift receipt", and it says the duration "varies by collection" without stating the Maxlite 5's. It also adds that the promise covers shipping to a Travelpro repair facility. Put the two together and the practical rule is simple: register the bag as soon as it arrives. Travelpro Maxlite 5 versus Platinum Elite compares this bag with the Platinum Elite.

Key specs

SpecAmazon listingTravelpro's pages
Case dimensions21" x 14" x 9"H 21 in., W 14 in., D 9 in.
Overall dimensions (wheels and handles)23" x 14.5" x 9"H 23 in., W 14.5 in., D 9 in.; "marginally above" the 22 x 14 x 9 in. standard, per its FAQ
Weight5.4 lbs; a half pound lighter than Maxlite 45.4 lbs.
Volume46 L46 L; trips of 2 to 7 days, "up to 7 outfits"
ExpansionUp to 2""2" additional tapered expansion"; may not meet airline restrictions when expanded
FabricStain-resistant polyester, water-resistant DuraGuard coatingPolyester with DuraGuard coating, "resists water and stains"
LiningRecycled plastics, H2O GuardECOFAB with H2O guard, 100% post-consumer recycled plastic bottles
ZippersErgonomic, high-strengthErgonomic, high-tensile-strength pulls; maker not named
Wheels360° spinner wheels360° 4-wheel spinners
HandlePowerScope Lite, stops at 38" and 42.5", contour gripPowerScope Lite, 38" and 42.5", patented Contour Grip with rubberized touch points
Carry handlesTop, side and bottomNot itemized
PocketsTwo exterior; full-length lid pocket; side accessory pocketFull-length interior lid pocket; side accessory pocket; exterior count not stated
StrapsAdjustable hold-down strapsAdjustable hold-down straps
LockNot statedNot stated
ColorsBlackBlack, Slate Green, Ensign Blue, Midnight Blue, Orchid Pink
WarrantyLimited Lifetime CoverageBuilt For A Lifetime Limited Warranty: wheels, zippers, extension and carrying handles; no duration or exclusions defined
Airline damageTrusted Companion Promise, one year when registeredRegister within 120 days; duration "varies by collection"; covers repair shipping

What stands out

  • 5.4 pounds at 46 liters, per the listing and Travelpro's page alike.
  • Both dimensions printed. The listing gives the 21" x 14" x 9" case and the 23" x 14.5" x 9" overall figure, so you can check the right number.
  • A handle with two stops, 38" and 42.5", per the listing.
  • Water resistance named on both sides: a water-resistant DuraGuard coating outside and an H2O Guard lining inside, per the listing.
  • Limited Lifetime Coverage plus airline-damage repair, per the listing, with the registration deadline on Travelpro's warranty page.

Where it might not fit

  • 23 inches overall. Travelpro's own FAQ places that above the commonly published 22-inch standard; hold it against your airline's box.
  • Expansion is for the hotel, not the gate. Travelpro's page says a fully expanded carry-on may not meet airline restrictions.
  • No lock stated by either source.
  • No laptop sleeve or interior dimensions stated by either source.
  • Registration deadline. The airline-damage promise depends on registering within 120 days, per Travelpro's warranty page, and the listing does not mention the deadline.

Verdict

Worth it for a frequent flyer whose priorities are weight, a four-wheel spinner, and a warranty that names wheels, zippers and handles. The listing's figures, 5.4 pounds, 46 liters, two handle stops, DuraGuard fabric and H2O Guard lining, are matched by Travelpro's page, and the Built For A Lifetime warranty names those parts specifically. The flyer who should pause is the one whose airline enforces 22 inches to the inch, because Travelpro itself calls the 23-inch overall height marginally above that standard, and anyone who needs a lock or a laptop sleeve, since neither source mentions one. Check the current price of the Travelpro Maxlite 5 21-inch softside spinner on Amazon, then register it the week it arrives.

Where to buy: Check the current price on Amazon.

FAQ

Is the Travelpro Maxlite 5 21-inch softside carry-on worth it for frequent flyers?

Yes, if weight and warranty are your priorities. Per the listing it weighs 5.4 pounds, holds 46 liters, has a two-stop PowerScope Lite handle and carries Limited Lifetime Coverage plus one year of airline-damage repair when registered. Check the 23" x 14.5" x 9" overall size against your airline first.

Does the Maxlite 5 21-inch fit the 22 x 14 x 9 carry-on box?

Its case is 21" x 14" x 9", but its overall size with wheels and handles is 23" x 14.5" x 9", per the listing. Travelpro's FAQ calls that height "marginally above the commonly published 22 x 14 x 9 in. standard." Check your airline's published limit and how it measures.

How much does the Maxlite 5 carry-on weigh?

5.4 pounds, per both the listing and Travelpro's page. The listing adds that it is a half pound lighter than the Maxlite 4.

What does the warranty cover?

Travelpro's warranty page lists wheels, zippers, extension handles and carrying handles for defects in materials and workmanship, repaired or replaced at Travelpro's discretion. The listing calls it Limited Lifetime Coverage. Neither defines "lifetime" in years.

Does it expand?

Yes. Per the listing it expands up to 2". Travelpro's page describes a tapered 2-inch expansion and warns that a fully expanded carry-on may not meet airline restrictions.

Sources

  • Travelpro — product page "Maxlite 5 21" Expandable Carry-On Spinner", including its specifications and FAQ, accessed October 2026.
  • Travelpro — "Travelpro's Luggage Guarantee & Warranties" (warranty overview page naming the Built For A Lifetime Limited Warranty and the Trusted Companion Promise), accessed October 2026.
  • Amazon product listing for the Travelpro Maxlite 5 Softside Carry-On Luggage Spinner, 21-Inch (title, brand and feature bullets).
Free Carry-On Luggage newsletter

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

Affiliate Disclosure

This article may contain affiliate links. If you make a purchase through these links, we may earn a commission at no additional cost to you.
#Travelpro
#Maxlite 5
#softside carry-on
#carry-on luggage
#frequent flyers

Stay Updated

Get the latest Carry-On Luggage reviews and deals delivered to your inbox.

Browse All Reviews

More Reviews

Featured Products

Travelpro Maxlite 5 Softside Carry-On Luggage Spinner

Travelpro Maxlite 5 Softside Carry-On Luggage Spinner

Travelpro Maxlite 5 Softside Carry-On Luggage Spinner, Black, 21-Inch | Expandable With 4 Wheels, Lightweight & Versatile Travel Design, Men & Women

View Deal

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.